I’m going to be putting the blog into winter break mode for the next few weeks. By that, I don’t mean that there won’t be anything posted but I certainly won’t be hitting the sort of ratio I maintained in 2012 of maybe 4 posts a week.

I’ve been doing the blog now for 6 years (and 2 days) and in that time I’ve written over 1,000 posts. In the last couple of years I have been making an effort to ensure that there’s regularly something new on the blog and as a consequence they have been the most read years in the blog’s history.

Yet, I confess that, at best, there’s a slight air of dissatisfaction about what goes up and at worst it can be a bit of a slog. I am feeling quite positive about the last few weeks but that has largely been down to the many talented people who have taken time to supply me with copy on their 2012.

Essentially I need some time to work out what I want to do with MPT without worrying about keeping things ticking over. And I need to do that now before family circumstances dictate that I will have less time in any case for writing during February.

So posts will appear here in the next few weeks as and when I feel the urge to write about things. It may simply be about a gig or it may happen after hearing a record either that I’ve been looking forward to for ages or simply something that simply blows me away.

I am uncertain what will happen after the “winter break” but, to quote a phrase, nothing is ruled in and nothing is ruled out. Although I am struggling to see the blog returning to the same level of intensity as it’s had over the last couple of years – at least not as a solo project.

In the meantime, I would like to thank everyone who has helped make 2012 the most successful year in the blog’s history, in particular Andy Wood who has regularly supplied me with material.

But also to the following people who are not only amongst my favourite musicians but who have also spent time on interviews for MPT one way opr another and at least once) over the last 12 months.

Graeme Anderson, Sam Barber, Danny Barria, Blood Indians, Becca Bomb, Elizabeth Nelson Bracy, Andrew Brodie, Jan Burnett, Dave, Mark and Keir from Burn The Maps, Ziggy Campbell,  Duncan Destruction, Grant, Jamie, Aggie and Alex from Edinburgh School for the Deaf, Lloyd Fay, Scott Finnigan, Derek and Sarah Fnord, Kris Ferguson, Sandy Fyfe, Vic Godard, Kitty Hall, Martin Henry, Chris Kay,  Michael Lambert, Kate Lazda, Adam Lockhart, Cammy MacFarlane, Raindeer MacFarlane, David MacGregor, Alex Mattinson, Aian Moffat, Michael Morrison, Ross Murray, Ally Palmer, Neil Pennycook, Tommy Perman, Euan from Playground Tactics, Matthew Reilly, Norman Rodger, Graeme Rose, Natasha Thirsk, Jeremy Thoms and Gavin Thomson.

Cheers everyone and have a great 2013!

About manicpopthrills

Likes - Music, Football, Reading

Leave a Reply

