Organised by Mr Peenko himself, the Scottish BAMS (Bloggers and Music Sites) has reached its third annual “LP of the Year” with the Top 10 LPs announced the other day. Let’s cut to the chase with the Top 10:

1. Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat – Everything’s Getting Older

2. Adam Stafford – Build A Harbour Immediately

3-4. Mike Nisbet – Vagrant / Bon Iver – Bon Iver

5. King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine

6-7. Conquering Animal Sound – Kammerspiel / The Son(s) – The Son(s)

8-10. The Moth & The Mirror – Honestly, This World /PJ Harvey – Let England Shake / FOUND – factorycraft

I confess that I’m much more comfortable with this year’s winners compared to last year’s (The National). I think if I was a betting man I’d have put money on Bill and Aidan given both their statuses in the Scottish music scene and the fact that ‘Everything’s Getting Older’ is a bloody good record.

What I find interesting about the list is that there was some daylight between Numbers 1 and 2 and then between No 2 and the rest of the pack. Those in the 3-10 range didn’t really get many more votes than those bubbling just under. Indeed it was possible (just)  for an act to get into the Top 10 on the strength of 2 nominees, illustrating both the lack of depth in the voting pool AND, probably more so, the lack of consensus over what actually comprised the best 3 LPs of the last 12 months.

In terms of my own vote, only 1 of my 3 picks made it into the Top 10, but all will be revealed on that score some time after Christmas.

The above list was voted for by the following (mainly Scottish) blogs:

The Pop Cop, Jim Gellatly, The Steinberg Principle, Blueback Hotrod, Scots Whay Hae, Dauphin, The Daily Dose, Blues Bunny, Rave Child, Glasgow PodcArt, 17 Seconds, Net Sounds, The Tidal Wave of Indifference,, Dear Scotland, Vic Galloway, Manic Pop Thrills, Edinburgh Man, Kowalskiy, Last Years Girl, Aye Tunes, Song, By Toad, Elba Sessions, Listen Before You Buy, Detour Scotland, Jock Rock, Found in Sound, Phuturelabs, The Daily Growl, Favourite Son, The ‘Spill, Scottish Fiction, Nicola Meighan, Jenny Soep, Rokbun, Curious Joe, Radar Scotsman Music Blog and of course Peenko.

For an interview with the winners, head over here.