I used to quite like the Manic Street Preachers. They never threatened to be my favourite band ever but they’ve made some good records over the year even if occasionally they seem to veer a little too close to 70s hard rock for my liking.

But I really lost an active interest in them after that awful ‘There By The Grace of God’ single. For old times sake though I tend to pick the LPs up when I see them really cheap and give them a few spins.

So it was with ‘Postcards From A Young Man’ when I got it before Christmas. Whilst I’ve got a distinct feeling that they’ve almost been remaking entire LPs from earlier in their career in recent years, ‘Postcards’ the LP has grabbed my attention more than others. So enjoy the video above from a 2010 Jools Holland performance.

I will bring this blog back into 2012 focus over the weekend probably with some Randolph’s Leap.

