bandphoto (2)

MPT’s look back continues with Lloyd Fay from Thula Borah. Their only release of the year, the ‘Live Secretly’ E.P. is well worth checking but in the meantime, Lloyd faces the MPT Inquisition:

Your Music

Your own musical highlight of the year?

I’d have to say finally releasing our EP ‘Live Secretly’ in February. We started recording it in January 2011 and finished it almost a year later and in between so many things went wrong. It was definitely a difficult birth but to come out the other side with an EP that we are proud of and we feel captures our sound well was very pleasing. There was a huge sense of relief just getting it out there for people to hear. That plus finding our new drummer Michael!

Favourite performance of the year?

We gigged a lot this year so there have been many highlights. Completely personally, I think the other guys will have their own different thoughts, but a gig we played at the 13th Note in Glasgow on St. Patrick’s day was notable in that I think band and audience were all suitably inebriated, so it lent itself to a much more jovial atmosphere than usual for our gigs and we chucked in a couple of new songs to our set which went down well.

What’s the one thing that went wrong in 2012 you’d like to fix?

As I alluded to earlier, 2011 was a pretty frustrating year but this year has been mainly positive so I’m struggling to think of anything I’d fix as such. As I said, we gigged a lot this year, possibly too much, perhaps I’d like to go back and turn some of the shittier gigs down.

What you gonna be doing next year?

Next year is going to be very, very busy for us. We’ll have a new EP out around April and we are hoping to release a single and tour in the summer. Plus I have a solo album, for want of a less wanky phrase, coming out.

Others’ Music

3 songs or LPs you’ve listened to the most in 2012?

I’ll go songs and say ‘Randy Quaid’ by Desertshore featuring Mark Kozelek; ‘Solitary Traveller’ which is my idea of a perfect song by Torche and ‘Curl of the Burl’ by Mastodon.

And I’ve listened to a lot of Iron & Wine, Bon Iver, Deftones and Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat too.

Best gig attended?

I went to a lot of great gigs this year but nothing was as special as seeing Mark Kozelek in Dublin.

Anything and everything

Event of 2012

I’d say Felix Baumgartner’s space jump. That was awesome and was a tiny glimpse into what it must have been like to watch earlier space exploration live. I loved it.

Lowpoint of 2012

My sister’s cat dying. Long live all cats.

Hero of 2012

Justin Vernon. It looks like he has handled his success well, I liked seeing someone out there publicly question the merits of awards like the Grammys and he made a cool little speech/polite rant at the Bon Iver gig in Glasgow this year. Oh yeah and he’s a fucking excellent songwriter and producer.

Villain of 2012

Both musically and otherwise there are just too many to pick one.

Favourite place of 2012

Gargleblast Studios in Hamilton. Feels like home.

Something to look forward to in 2013?

I’m looking forward to new Low and Sun Kil Moon albums. Other than that I can’t offer much hope for the human race.

