alexmattinson

For Alex Mattinson, 2012 was a year that both brought closure, with the posthumous release of the These Single Spies LP ‘Shipwrecking‘ but at least as importantly, with the unveiling of his new project Death To Dreaming. Here, he looks back on 2012 for MPT …

Your own musical highlight of the year?

Writing and recording demos for my soon-to-be-alive new band Death To Dreaming (www.deathtodreaming.bandcamp.com), and reconciling myself to the fact that I’m allowed to write pop songs without having to cut off my fingers as a punishment.

Favourite performance of the year?

In March I toured as part of Emmy The Great supporting Noah And The Whale. We played Dublin Olympia on St Patrick’s Day. Also doing Queen Elizabeth Hall in London with a full string section and choir was amazing.

What’s the one thing that went wrong in 2012 you’d like to fix?

My gall bladder and my wisdom tooth.

What you gonna be doing next year?

Death To Dreaming Death To Dreaming Death To Dreaming.

3 songs or LPs you’ve listened to the most in 2012?

Casiotone For The Painfully Alone Etiquette; Pulp Different Class; Opossum Electric Hawaii.

Best gig attended?

Grandaddy at Shepherd’s Bush Empire. Gig of my life, truly.

Biggest surprise of 2012?

They don’t serve alcohol at the Emirates during Champions League fixtures.

Biggest letdown of 2012?

Post-Leveson Cameron. Also pre- and intra-Leveson Cameron.

Event of 2012

My birthday party. You just had to be there.

Lowpoint of 2012

Fresh Meat finishing.

Hero of 2012 

Mr Sprinkles. He weathered an anonymous hoax Facebook page, survived a traumatic house move, and now he’s kicking the shit out of the neighbourhood competition. He’s a cat.

Villain of 2012 

Obelix. My gall stone. He’s a calcified bastard.

Favourite place of 2012

Hotel Palacio in Vigo, Spain. Best room(s) I’ve ever had on tour, in a beautiful town with lovely people.

Favourite book of 2012

I’ve always catching up on reading, so I’ll read this year’s books next year. One book I read this year that I loved was Jonathan Franzen’s debut from 1988, The Twenty-Seventh City.

Favourite film of 2012

Moonrise Kingdom.

Something to look forward to in 2013?

Being fitter, happier and more productive.

 

