Mitchell Museum 200512

Having heard right at the start of this from his brother Raindeer (representing Behold, The Old Bear), Cammy MacFarlane steps forward to represent Mitchell Museum in the MPT Inquisition 2012.

Your Music

Your own musical highlight of the year?

Getting back together to write more songs and play more gigs after our holiday away from being Mitchell Museum. I didn’t enjoy our holiday away from Mitchell Museum. That was a musical lowlight from last year.

Favourite performance of the year?

The first gig after the ‘holiday’. That was for Limbo in Edinburgh. It was great to be back playing a whole bunch of new songs for people. It was nice hearing what the songs sounded like through a big proper PA system for the first time.

What’s the one thing that went wrong in 2012 you’d like to fix?

I accidentally deleted three demo songs that I recorded on my 8 track recorder. I’m pretty sure they were good songs but I can’t remember them now. I think they should have been on the album …but I never got the chance to do anything with them… a stupid stupid move on my part.

What you gonna be doing next year?

Hopefully releasing a new album for you to hear. Playing more gigs would be nice too.

Others’ Music

3 songs or LPs you’ve listened to the most in 2012?

Die Hards In The Garden
Dan Deacons True Thrush
And Busdrivers befriend the friendless freindster.

Best gig attended?

Uhmmm…. The Grandaddy gig!!! Yes! That was excellent….I also went to see war of the worlds last week…that was also excellent in quite a different way.

Biggest surprise of 2012?

I trapped my head in an electric door. That was quite a big surprise.

Biggest letdown of 2012?

Raindeer covered this in his answers…I’ve tried hard to think of a different answer but it’s impossible to get away from the fact that the St Vincent/David Byrne album is incredibly disappointing.

Anything and Everything

Lowpoint of 2012

As discussed. The part when Mitchell Museum were on ‘holiday’ was a major lowpoint.

Hero of 2012

I probably shouldn’t be saying this as it will come across as super cheesy but my hero of 2012 is split between Kris and Raindeer. At a point when I thought I was going to give up music for good they both gave me a subtle shake in the right direction and sorted me out. They are both so supportive and extremely talented and I’m more than certain that I’ll regret writing this directly after hitting the send button….but I think they’re brilliant.

Villain of 2012

Time. Time is the villain. There is never enough time in the day to have a job and then record and mix in the evening. I’m awake at 2.37 in the morning trying to finish mixing/recording a track a lot more than I would ever want to be

Favourite place of 2012

Paris.

Favourite book of 2012

I’ve not read any books from 2012 but my favourite book from 1962 is Pale Fire. My friend Graeme got it for me on my birthday and it’s immense.

Favourite film of 2012

The Master. A simply magnificent film.

Something to look forward to in 2013?

Finishing our new album. I can’t wait for people to hear it.

About manicpopthrills

Likes - Music, Football, Reading

Leave a Reply

