tufflove_201114_351s

It’s been quite a year for Tuff Love. In fact in their recent interview with MPT, Suse went as far as to describe it as the best year ever!

With a year of hard gigging now concluded and a new E.P. on the horizon early in 2015, Suse takes time to look back on 2014 for MPT, even including a bonus photo!

Your Own Music

Your own musical highlight of the year?

Having our songs pressed on to vinyl for the ‘Junk’ E.P and now ‘Dross’. So cool to see songs you made on a playable spinning plastic disc.

Also when Julie came to my house and played the ‘Slammer’ riff. It was in June I think just before we started doing festivals but after our tour. We finished the song that day I think. I love when that happens.

Favourite performance of the year?

My memory is really, really bad, I think I’ll keep a proper tour diary next year. The Amsterdam gig we played in August at OCCII was really good. It was the last date of the mini French tour we did with Pictish Trail and people there were very nice, I remember thinking “ahhh that was good,” after we played. I think it used to be a squat and they have a nice DIY ethic there and everyone volunteers and there’s a soup kitchen beside it where we had food. Also it looked amazing, here’s a photo of the outside of it.

amsterdam

What’s the one thing that went wrong in 2014 you’d like to fix?

Hmm, everything went pretty good this year music wise I think from my point of view. I suppose literally my big muff bass distortion pedal broke and I would like to fix it in 2015 or get another one when I have the money.

Actually I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to record/mix ‘Dross’. Would like more time to do that sorta thing next year.

What you gonna be doing next year?

Hopefully a few other releases & trying recording a slightly different way. Playing live loads. Also maybe recording some other bands because I like doing it a lot (can I record your band? Give me an email!)

Baaasically the same as this year + more!

Others’ Music

3 LPs you’ve listened to the most in 2014?

Poor Things debut album, literally listened to that album about a hundred times in the car on tour. Is amazing.

The Beatles – Rubber Soul

Tony Molina – Dissed and Dismissed

Best gig attended?

M.I.A at Glastonbury, or Courtney Barnett at Glasto also.

Best discovery in 2014?

Wolf Alice

Who should we be looking out for in 2015?

Lazy Day, a band from London who have great songs & amazing recordings. They’re quite new I think.

Also Poor Things, I think they will do some cool things in 2015 and I love them.

Anything and Everything

Event of 2014

When the ESA landed a probe on a comet 67p after 10 years of tracking it and traveling to get to it, that was a cool event of the year/of all time.

Also finishing University and then going straight on tour with Tuff Love, Pictish Trail & Monoganon.

Sorry I can’t seem to pick just one thing…

Hero of 2014

Julie Eisenstein, we’ve worked together and hung out so much this year and I haven’t driven her completely crazy…yet.

And Johnny Lynch, he works so hard in general and for us and he’s amazing. He’s like my (young) dad.

Lowpoint of 2014

The Scottish independence thing, boo 😦

Villain of 2014

Ehhh David Cameron, wot a dick.

Favourite book of 2014

Dr Bloodmoney – Phillip K Dick (even though it’s old I only read it recently)

Favourite film of 2014

I watched Dune again the other night but I’ve not actually watched many new films this year. Dune is omg amazing. Or maybe I have seen some films and have just forgotten? Uhoh…

Best piece of advice you were given in 2014

“don’t shave your head”

Something to look forward to in 2015

Aliens might contact earth this year?

I’m just excited about getting to go to more cool new places with the band.

