20150417_PAWS

PAWS – The Cool Cat Club, Beat Generator Live, Dundee – Friday 17th April 2015

Returning late from a family occasion I gave serious consideration to not going to this show on Friday not least because I knew that I was going to miss all of the new look Creeping Ivies set.

But even just seeing PAWS turned out to be a good decision because they were in absolutely blistering form.

I confess that I’ve never quite liked the records as much as I’d like to and the live shows are the reason why. For me the songs just come to life in a live environment and they seem particularly well suited to a club such as Beat Generator Live.

In just under an hour PAWS battered through songs old and new. Whilst the old favourites got great receptions it was actually the frantic new tune which encouraged the biggest mosh pit of the evening. The other song announced as new sounded like a bit of a change of direction for the band pushing them in a more restrained anthemic direction.

So they may have been the only band I managed to see but they were definitely worth the effort.

Other than missing the Ivies, the evening’s other big disappointment was the turnout – down noticeably on PAWS’ last appearance at the Cool Cat Club. Certainly there were other shows on in the city which will undoubtedly have diluted the audience but it’s becoming something of a depressing pattern – certainly at shows I’ve been to in the last 12 months or so.

