tanya_green

When looking for something old the other day I was heading for Teenage Fanclub but ended up stopping off first at Tanya Donelly and the album that this song was taken from:

I’d never seen that promo before but what more can you want from a video than a great song, some dancing and a green alien?

‘The Bright Light’ is taken from Tanya’s debut solo LP ‘Lovesongs for Underdogs’, which I’ve always thought highly of. On listening again to it, if I’m being  a little harsh, I’m not sure it all quite holds up as well as I recalled but a hell of a lot of it does. An oft overlooked gem.

After many years inactive Tanya released a series of E.P.s (the ‘Swan Song’ series) in the last couple of years and they are well worth a listen not least because they’re supposed to be getting a 3 CD release (including new 8 songs) later in the year on American Laundromat Records.

