woz241015_2088col

2015 saw Wozniak release their best record to date – the spellbinding ‘Auster’ E.P. – and continue to build their audience through a series of gigs and the world wide shoegazing network. 75% of the band, John, Simon and Sarah, look back on their year for MPT:

Your Own Music

Your own musical highlight of the year?

John: Hearing ‘Gospel of Infinity’ on BBC Razzio 6 Music!
Simon: We played London for the first time in January, and it was great. We had a great crowd who were really into it, and I thought the band played really well.
Sarah: Getting played on BBC 6 Music was a highlight for me – the response was brilliant.

Favourite performance of the year?

John: Simon’s 30 second guitar hero-windmill session at the ‘Gospel of Infinity’ video shoot. Sublime.
Simon: I liked the London gig a lot, but I also liked our November gig at the Wee Red Bar in Edinburgh. We played well, the crowd were enthusiastic, and our multi-media projections and smoke machines were in full effect!
Sarah: Honestly, I’ve loved every 2015 gig, but I’m going to choose Dublin, because it was our first European show, and it was a great band adventure.

What’s the one thing that went wrong in 2015 you’d like to fix?

Simon: For various reasons, we didn’t manage to produce as much new music as we had planned to, so we’re going to focus on finishing off some new songs.
Sarah: I’d like to play more gigs with more women on the bill. We only played one gig this year with another female musician. It’s not good enough.

What you gonna be doing next year?

John: Furiously studying the drums for the next Woz recording to be bigger and bangerer.
Simon: See above! The first part of the year will be spent sorting out new material – we’ve lots of bits and pieces that need to be finished – and then we’ll be looking to put something out in the middle of the year and get back to playing live. Hopefully some festivals, too!
Sarah: An album. Honest!

woz241015_1986col

Others’ Music

3 songs or LPs you’ve listened to the most in 2015?

John: Clutch ‘Psychic Warfare’; Burning Airlines ‘The Deluxe War Baby’; Bo Ningen ‘Soko’.
Simon: Sufjan Stevens, Carrie and Lowell; A Place To Bury Strangers, Transfixiation; Sonic Youth, Daydream Nation.
Sarah: Waxahatchee, Ivy Tripp; Savages, The Answer; The Besnard Lakes, The Golden Lion.

Best gig attended in 2015?

John: AC/DC at Hampden. Oh yeah.
Simon: I really enjoyed seeing American Football at Primavera this year – they were probably the band I enjoyed most at the festival.
Sarah: Sun O))) at Primavera. It honestly felt like my skeleton was being vibrated out of my body. This is a good thing. Special mention too to Novella and Cheatahs at Sneaky Pete’s – that was great.

Biggest surprise of 2015?

John: Baby Chaos at O2 ABC in Glasgow supporting The Wildhearts. Stole the show I thought!
Simon: Sleaford Mods – I had avoided them because all the media coverage I’d read made them seem like thugs, but when I did hear them I found them completely compelling.
Sarah: The Indonesian shoegaze scene! I just reviewed a band called Intenna for Primal Music blog. It’s worth checking out…

Biggest letdown of 2015?

John: The sound at the O2 Academy, Glasgow for the Clutch gig in November. One of my favourite bands made to sound like the worst band in the world. Not their fault though.
Simon: Wozniak being overlooked for the support slot for the Cure’s 2016 world tour. I think they picked the wrong moody Scottish guitar worriers.
Sarah: I am continually underwhelmed by a wide range of bands that excite the Scottish music media establishment.

Who should we be looking out for in 2016?

John: Hopefully more Baby Chaos.
Simon: They’re not exactly a new band, but I’m looking forward to the new Sunn O))) album. There aren’t too many new bands that I’m massively excited about just now, but I’m making it my mission in 2016 to find some. I also like an EP called Over Easy by Diet Cig, which I only discovered right at the end of the year, so it’ll be interesting to see what they come up with.
Sarah: I’m looking forward to Savages. After that we’ll see what else can compare.

woz241015_2054

Anything and Everything

Event of 2015

Simon: At the time of writing, it hasn’t been released, but I’m going to say the new Star Wars film.
Sarah: Adding my 5th reverb pedal to my board. Wasn’t that everyone’s?

Hero of 2015

Simon: As above, so Han Solo.
Sarah: Lesley Knope – the only worthy politician in the world and so fitting that she is fictional.

Lowpoint of 2015

Simon: So many horrific things to choose from, so to avoid dragging this down too much, I’m going to say still no reissue of the Fender XII. Come on, Fender, take my money already!
Sarah: The Paris attacks.

Villain of 2015

Simon: Kylo Ren – boo!
Sarah: Too many to name.

Favourite book of 2015

John: Treasure Island. (I haven’t read much this year)
Simon: It was published in 2013, but I only recently read Dave Eggers’ The Circle, which is a hilarious and terrifying look at the effects of social media and the internet and all of that stuff.
Sarah: Kim Gordon’s Girl in a Band – I’ve met her, you know.

Favourite film of 2015

John: Star Wars.
Simon: Inevitably Star Wars, but I also thought Birdman was fabulous.
Sarah: I don’t manage to get to the cinema much! So, Gregory’s Girl? It’s my favourite most years.

Something to look forward to in 2016?

John: Another Star Wars film?
Simon: The European Championships – come on Iceland!
Sarah: The continued success and growth of Girls Rock School Edinburgh – a project trying to tackle the very issue I was moaning about above. Check them out: https://girlsrockschool.wordpress.com/.

Spreading the gospel …

