De Rosa MendTrees sleevetmof-fr

To mark the blog’s 10th anniversary I thought I’d have a quick run through of my favourite albums from the blog’s history.

Since one of  my first posts on the blog was my top albums of 2006, this post will features the lists of 2006, 2007 and 2008.

It’s interesting to look back to the start because the strong impression I get is of a frustrated music fan, someone with a reasonable collection but one that hadn’t been as refreshed as often as it might have been as, in the post music papers age and attending few gigs, I didn’t have reliable sources of musical intelligence.

Even now my intelligence gathering isn’t exactly perfect but it’s almost amusing to see how much passed me by in those early years.

However it was precisely around this time that I first saw De Rosa play headline shows and the bands that supported them suddenly meant that I had far more musical intelligence at my finger-tips than I’d ever had before. Which led the blog into an unexpected direction.

But let’s turn the clock back to 2006 …

2006 Albums

De Rosa Mend

1 De Rosa – Mend

2 Hope of the States – Left

3 Catlow – Kiss The World

4 Isa & The Filthy Tongues – Addiction

5 Sonic Youth – Rather Ripped

6 The Delgados – The Peel Sessions

7 The Early Years – The Early Years

8 The Blue Aeroplanes – Altitude

9 Grandaddy – Just Like The Fambly Cat

Hilariously I couldn’t even name a Top 10 and most of the list comprised of long term favorites. And the Delgados record wouldn’t have made it in a modern list as it was a collection of archival material.

Two of the debuts in the list (Isa & The Filthy Tongues and Catlow) arose because I saw those bands play live with TV21 and the Blue Aeroplanes respectively. The Early Years was purchased on the back of a magazine CD.

Nevertheless the number 1 (‘Mend’ holds good to this day not just for the year but qiute possibly for the lifetime of the blog.

The list of albums that I missed is at least as impressive as those I’d heard:

Desert Hearts – Hotsy Totsy Nagasaki
Sophia – Technology Won’t Save Us
The Kissaway Trail – The Kissaway Trail
Neutral Milk Hotel – On Avery Island
Howling Bells – Howling Bells
Oppenheimer – Oppenheimer
FOUND – FOUND Can Move
Saint Jude’s Infirmary – Happy Healthy Lucky Month
Tanya Donelly – This Hungry Life

At least the top four of these would have made the Top 10 if they’d been digested in time.

The original Top 10 post is here.

2007 Albums

Trees sleeve

1 Thurston Moore – Trees Outside The Academy

2 Malcolm Middleton – A Brighter Beat

3 Kristin Hersh – Learn To Sing Like  A Star

4 The National – Boxer

5 The Twilight Sad – Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters

6 The Big Sleep – Son of the Tiger

7 Saturation Point – Three

8 The Undertones – Dig Yourself Deep

9 Emma Pollock – Watch The Fireworks

10 The Raveonettes – Lust Lust Lust

That’s a better list! I’d probably move the National down a couple of places now and maybe also Thurston but to be fair it’s a record that I’ve not listened to in a while. This was also the year that (late on) I joined e-Music – and it had no impact on this list at all!

Here’s the list of ones that got away.

Areogramme – My Heart Has A Wish
Dinosaur Jr – Beyond
Film School – Hideout
FOUND – This Mess We Keep Reshaping
Idlewild – Make Another World
Julian Cope – You Gotta Problem With Me
St Vincent – Marry Me

I think that the Aerogramme swansong would have made it into the Top 10 and several are on a par with ‘Lust, Lust, Lust’ but it’s clearly not a year that I went back on too much.

The original Top 10 post is here.

2008 Albums

tmof-fr

1 Frightened Rabbit – The Midnight Organ Fight

2 British Sea Power – Do You Like Rock Music?

3 De Rosa – Appendices

4 – 11

The Big Sleep – Sleep Forever (review)

Breeders – Mountain Battles (review)

Deerhunter – Microcastle

Robert Forster – The Evangelist (review)

The Hold Steady – Stay Positive (review)

Sleight of Heart – Malcolm Middleton (review)

REM – Accelerate (review)

TV On The Radio – Dear Science

A list of good albums but not exactly that great so I felt I had to put De Rosa’s internet only project in at number 3. ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’ is a terrific album though, as is ‘Do You Like Rock Music?’ adn I think I’d have the Big Sleep at 4 on its own now.

My list of albums I’ve missed is even shorter than 2007 but all of those would make the Top 10 now and I’d probably stick Meursault in at 3.

Julian Cope – Black Sheep
Meursault – Pissing on Bonfires/Kissing With Tongues
Oppenheimer – Take The Whole Midrange and Boost It
Wire – Object 47

The original Top 10 post is here.

2009 and 2010 next!

