Looking back it’s remarkable just how many records a) were sold, and b) could be sold on independent labels. Take the Red Guitars, for example, their debut single ‘Good Technology’ on their own label, sold SIXTY thousand copies. Great song of course.

I saw the Red Guitars four times, three times (on consecutive nights) supporting the Smiths on their first UK tour then shortly afterwards on their own headline tour at a very sparsely attended Nightmoves (where they were supported by the Room).

That was the only time I saw the Room live although I had a handful of records. Amongst my very favourites is this extended Peel session version of ‘Jackpot Jack’, the studio version of which appears on ‘In Evil Hour’:

Talking of the Room, I’m a little mystified why I missed out on successor band  Benny Profane. Have (finally) heard the two albums and they’re both really strong. Here’s a song from the second LP ‘Dumb Luck Charm’:

Tenuous link to the last old song. In the ‘Lost In France’ film about the 90s Glasgow music scene, Stewart Henderson from Chemikal Underground reckoned that, had the Phantom Band arrived 10 years earlier, they could have sold 60,000 records.

Finally, to finish the obligatory the new song.

In general I’ve always liked British Sea Power but I’ve not seen them live for several years. Hearing this song made me purchase a ticket for tomorrow’s Liquid Room show. This is taken from the new LP ‘Let The Dancers Inherit The Party’:

