Desirable (reprise)

Scars JK&TLW

Two desirable packages landed through the letterbox at MPT Towers this morning as a direct of posts on this blog last week.

The first is the reissued Scars LP ‘Author! Author!’, currently playing in the background. The LP is close to the definitive Scars collection with the album supplemented with all the singles barring ‘Horrorshow/Adultery’. The omission of these 2 songs is a pity (the rights couldn’t be obtained) but it doesn’t detract from a fantastic package which includes the original sleeve notes.

Given all the focus on the band’s many contemporaries in recent times, it’s perhaps surprising that Scars haven’t been more widely quoted.

The LP is available direct from the band’s own Pre VS label here. It’s also available at Amazon but it costs more and you’ll probably get it more quickly from Pre VS so why do it that way? But whatever way you choose, you should certainly do it.

Here’s the single version of ‘All About You’, one of the 8 bonus tracks on the LP (which also includes a cover of David Essex’s ‘Silver Dream Machine’.)

Scars – All About You (single version)

I thought the other, larger package might have been the Arcade Fire LP on pre-order but instead it is a video. No, you read that right, a video.

I wrote a bit the other week about a great show I saw by James King and the Lonewolves in the mid 80s and my regrets that an LP never materialised from that era. A Google though on the Lonewolves revealed the existence of a live video featuring 14 songs from that tour and it’s something I’m looking forward to watching a lot. For anyone else after the video it still seems to be available at a very reasonable price from Screenedge (and it appears to be new rather than secondhand).

Whilst I await the chance to watch it, here’s a studio version of one of the tracks in the set, the A-side of ‘The Angels Know’ single.

James King & The Lonewolves – The Angels Know

Something different next time.

4 Comments

  1. Ian says:

    Hi,
    I’ve got some Mk1 Scars stuff if it’s of any interest.
    They were so good and Adult/ery/Horrorshow was an amazing debut. Get in touch and I’ll let you know what files I have saved.
    Ian

  2. Cheers, Ian but I actually got Adult/ery/Horrorshow from the much missed Post Punk Junk a wee while back. If you’ve got other stuff not on the reissue I’d be interested though.

  3. Ian says:

    It’s from some old tapes I had; Slime, Anti-feelings, Obsessions. The 4 John Peel tracks. Covers; Billy Porter & Pyschomodo. Other bits too. How d’you want them?
    Ian

  4. I purchased the Scars reissue – it is brilliant! I should check out the video – sounds great.

Comments are closed.