2017 LPs – 1-10

I do genuinely think this has been the best year for albums in the blog’s lifespan – at least in terms of my tastes.

It does seem that my feelings on the best albums tend to be drifting towards older artists again but I’d argue that is only when the older artists produce work that deserves to be at the top of this list. And that is the case this year, I think.

Does this list matter? Probably not but in a world where a consensus seems to surround ‘american dream’ as one of the best LPs of the year, I’d like to put my tuppence in and suggest that the 10 albums below are all better records. In my house at least.

So without further ado here’s my favourite 10 albums of the year:

  1. British Sea Power – Let The Dancers Inherit The Party

I confess that the last couple of BSP albums had left me a bit cold but ‘Bad Bohemian’ drew me back in.

There’s nothing especially revolutionary about ‘Dancers’, indeed the production is a little safe, but it’s a strong record from start to finish. Having said that, as ever, it wouldn’t have hurt being a little shorter.

But, yeah, a good one.

9. Wire – Silver/Lead

It’s funny to some extent I’ve felt that recent Wire albums have been worth more than the sum of their parts.

Yet, for me ‘Silver/Lead’ is the opposite – the 10 songs on here suggest a stronger record than I feel it is.

Perhaps it’s the pacing – it’s mid paced to slow for the most part and maybe it needed another punchy song like ‘Short Elevated Period’. But the strength of the individual tunes give it a deserved Top 10 finish.

  1. Desperate Journalist – Grow Up

New to me, DJ had been one of those bands that seemed to get a lot of coverage so I eventually checked them out this year. And I was glad I did.

There’s no doubting that ‘Grow Up’ could be classed as an indie-rock record but it’s got bags of energy and soaring tunes.  Initially I thought it lost a little momentum in the middle but subsequent plays disabused me of that notion. Another really strong album.

A seasonally appropriate video for a tune from the album:

7. Thula Borah – Near Life Experience

NLE was business as usual for Thula Borah – a cracking record made away from the spotlight yet the band delivered probably their finest record to date.

Certainly, with songs like ‘The Psychopath Test’ they were as direct as they’ve ever been but found room on the record’s monumental centre-piece ‘Unhappen’ to spread their wings.

Sadly there seems talk of the band calling it a day – I’m hoping that they just decide a break is what’s needed rather than a conclusion.

6. The Vintage Calvinos – An Invitation to Infamy

Not quite true to say this album came from nowhere, since Stereogram have a knack of springing surprises on me. After all two years ago St Christopher Medal similarly cam from nowhere into 7th place but, this year, the Calvinos manage to outdo their labelmates by one place.

Briefly, ‘Invitation to Infamy’ is the product of Aberdonian musician David Baird and a cast of supporting musicians. In amongst a dizzying array of influences David remembers the key point throughout – that pop music depends intrinsically on melody.

A real treat.

5. Brix and the Extricated – Part 2

Even a superb live performance in 2016 didn’t properly prepare me for how good the Extricated LP turned out to be. Whilst the live set continues to feature a fair quantity of old Fall tunes, the LP impressively focussed mainly on new tunes and reaped the rewards as a consequence.

Mixing punk, glam and pop, ‘Part 2’ is a stunning collection of songs.

4. Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination

Someone else that has passed me by up until this year, I’m delighted I caught up with ‘Holiday Destination. P.J. Harvey is an obvious reference point but Nadine carves out her own identity by virtue of a strong post-punk influence.

Importantly though, amongst the tension and energy, ‘Holiday Destination’ retains an important relationship with melody, never more apparent than on the haunting closing track ‘Jolly Sailor’.

3. Lee Ranaldo – Electric Trim

The great Lee Ranaldo solo songwriter album has been the one that I’ve been waiting the longest for since Sonic Youth ceased activities in 2011. His first post SY record ‘Between The Tides and the Times’ was a transitional record still with strong songs whilst follow-up ‘Last Night on Earth’ didn’t have the same quality of songs. I think in ‘Electric Trim’ it has finally arrived.

Other than his melodic sense, there’s little here to tie ET to Sonic Youth. Nevertheless the record could well be the one that sees Lee innovate sonically more than any other and marrying that to his strongest set of solo tunes he’s produced a real contender for album of the year.

In truth the first side doesn’t quite inspire as much as the second but I think this is probably my favourite song of the year, bar none:

2. The Dream Syndicate – How Did I Find Myself Here?

Actually, never mind the Vintage Calvinos, this is the most unlikely record in the Top 10. The Dream Syndicate had pretty much passed me by until the autumn and whilst the band have a cult following it’s probably fair to say that their entire back catalogue is not held in the same high esteem as the debut record.

Yet, having stumbled on the title track on an Uncut CD then being blown away by ‘Glide’, I approached the full album with a degree of optimism which was surpassed, and then some, when I did get to hear the record.

In fact, it’s only being held off the top spot by its recent release – it’s still a fresher listen than an album I’ve been listening to for a full 12 months (see below). So it will probably take me at least another six months before I decide if this number 2 ranking is a mistake.

Because, make no mistake, it’s a remarkable record from the monstrous guitars of  ’80 West’ and ‘Out of My Head’ through the jangle pop of ‘Filter Me Through You’, the trippiness of ‘Glide’ and ‘Kendra’s Dream’ to the loose funk jam of ‘How Did I Find Myself Here’.

But I do think this is the band’s strongest album – regardless of anyone’s attachment to ‘The Days of Wine and Roses’, I’d argue that the variety of HDIFMH gives it the edge. (Ducks for cover)

But – whatever – get this.

Here’s the only video for a song from the album:

  1. The Blue Aeroplanes – Welcome, Stranger!

Having first heard this exactly 12 months ago, I was convinced it would be at the top end of this list even then. And so it proves.

‘Welcome, Stranger!’ is the Blue Aeroplanes at their most concise -10 songs only one of which is longer than 4 and a half minutes. In fact, I’d suggest that not only does WS serve as the perfect introduction to the band, I’d go as far as to say that it’s probably their best LP since the classic ‘Swagger’. But honestly, if you have an interest in the band’s classic era, then seek this out.

The band sound reinvigorated by the presence of new co-writers Mike Youé and Bec Jevons whilst Gerard Langley remains imperious as ever.

Whilst the Dream Syndicate may have had the element of surprise, the Blue Aeroplanes have never stopped releasing records – even if they have become rather less frequent than they once were. Yet, a new album is in preparation already and its release will hopefully lead to further live dates in the coming months.

Here’s a cracking video from the album, although be aware ‘Elvis Festival’ isn’t, by any means, the best song on the album:

And that’s it for 2017 LPs.

Over the next few days I’m going to share some playlists of my favourite songs from the year.

Previously – Numbers 11-20 and 21-50

3 Comments

  1. Have to say the Vintage Calvinos album is my album of 2017, I do have BSP in my top 10 too

    1. Still listening to the Vintage Calvinos which is definitely a good sign. But just love the Top 3 a bit more.

Comments are closed.